The Old Schoolhouse Magazine
Print PageClose Window
The Old Schoolhouse Magazine
Fury: 1825-1826 (part of The Great Awakening Series)

By Bill Bright and Jack Cavanaugh
Howard Publishing Co., Inc.

3117 North 7th Street
West Monroe, LA 71291

The Great Awakening Series is a four-book set unlike any others I have ever read. The idea for the series belongs to co-author Bill Bright, who "had a strong desire for revival in America." He sat down with Jack Cavanaugh, and together they worked out the concept for the series. (Unfortunately, Bill Bright did not live to see the books in print; he died in 2003 from pulmonary fibrosis.) Knowing that fiction is "a powerful way of communicating spiritual truth," the authors set out to retell several events of revival in our history in hopes that revival might once again occur in our country. All four books are "inspired by actual revival events . . . and explore the personal and spiritual upheaval that occurs when the Holy Spirit stirs the waters of our souls" (from the back of the book Proof).

Though Fury is the final book to be published, it is actually the third chronologically. (The preceding titles are Fire, Storm, and Proof.) I recommend that they be read in chronological order--Fire, Storm, Fury, and finally Proof. Each book can be read alone, but the entire story makes more sense if read in order. Fury is different from the other books because the main character, Daniel, is younger--only 16 years old. This allows for the series (and its theme of revival) to be introduced to a younger reader.

In Fury, Daniel is living with his Uncle Asa and Aunt Camilla because his parents drowned at sea. He is an angry child and butts heads constantly with his uncle. One night, after sneaking out of his bedroom window, he witnesses a murder! Once it is known that he has witnessed the crime, Daniel packs a bag and leaves town. However, the killer chases Daniel in an attempt to silence the only witness. The months-long journey to escape the killer brings about changes in Daniel's faith. The son of a preacher, he had abandoned his faith upon the event of his parents' deaths.

There are several storylines going at one time in Fury, and they are expertly interwoven, which keeps the book's flow moving nicely. I found myself staying up past my normal bedtime to read more! I would recommend this book, and the rest of the series, for high school and up. All four books are good additions to the historical Christian fiction genre.

Product review by Kris Price, Assistant to the Publishers, The Old Schoolhouse Magazine, LLC, December 2006

The Old Schoolhouse Magazine
Print PageClose Window
2016 is a division of The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine, LLC. All rights reserved.
No content may be removed or used without permission from
Webmaster    Legal   Site Map   Advertise